Essex TT Championships 2024

Essex TT Championships 2024

Robinson and Coyle become Essex TT Champions 2024

Shaftesbury CC hosted the Essex TT Championships on Sunday 19 May 2024  and took full home advantage on their iconic sporting ‘Vipers’ course, as the atomic clock based timing system pioneered by the club in association with HCS Technologies sent instant split and finish times back to HQ alongside the live video of action out on the course.

Louise Robinson (Shaftesbury CC) retained her Female TT Essex Champion title on the 25 mile course with a 1:02.35 and said after the event ‘I’m delighted to have won for the third year in a row. The course was challenging and much harder than in previous years. I gave it everything I had to defend my title and it paid off’. Lauren Harding (Chlemer CC) course PB’d to take second and the overall handicap win, Karen Aylen (Maldon & District CC) rounded out the podium.

James Jenkins (Hart Performance Coaching) battled with Tim Torrie (trainSharp), for the Open TT Crown. Each too busy training to have time for more than one initial it was JJ that beat TT to the title. Torrie, whose name literally means ‘Thor’ put the hammer down holding 375W and posting 53:04, but JJ proved unstoppable as fastest overall and new Essex TT Champion with a 51:34. Jenkins has always been super resilient, constantly overcoming pre-race mechanicals as a junior, he first broke the hour for a 25 on the Vipers and backed himself to succeed after leaving a successful race team to carve his own history. Now pushing for top of the national Spindata rankings – another big win doing his mission no harm.

Colin Ward (Primo RT), coach to Female TT Champion Louise Robinson, led by example taking another Essex TT title himself. Colin was top of the Essex based riders in the Open Road Bike competition. 

Debbie Coyle (Shaftesbury CC) had to face off not only stiff competition from defending champion Paulina Mozal (Chelmer CC) but many gremlins determined to deny her a first major title. Debbie was not only battling illness but her light failed just before the start, partner Paul was competing and on hand to pass her a light – punctures struck as she crossed the line, but too late to deny her the title.

Charles Langford (Southend Wheelers) put his shocking talent on show for the Juvenille title with a lightning fast 59:03.

All the individual winners take the right to wear the Essex Champions jersey in competition for the year.

Mike Debney (Veralum Really Moving) was not eligible for the Essex titles, but beasted the course as fastest Road Bike with a monster 55:50.

The team champions for the fastest aggregate time across Open and Female TT and Road Bike Cats went to hosts Shaftesbury CC. Individual winners Robinson and Coyle combined with club mates Ramsey Kechacha on the TT (58:28) and Kevin Baumber on Road Bike (1:01:51) to hand the title to Shaftesbury ahead of rampaging neighbours Chelmer CC.